In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own private label bag. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer ofours purchases and repackages our items. The allergen-free claim may be different as these companies often package other items containing peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.
To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, check the back of the bag for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have all of the following identifiers:
(1) Current Spangler allergen statement: "This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment."
(2) Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.
(3) UPC code begins with “0 30800”. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.
Families with allergic children take great care to determine the origin of the food their children consume to protect against an allergic reaction. Families should ask the origin of any candy or food product that is in an open container to ensure what their children consume is free of allergens.
If you have any questions, please contact our Quality Assurance department through email at firstname.lastname@example.org or toll-free 888-636-4221.