Dum Dums

Spangler Candy Allergen Information

Spangler Candy products are free of the top common allergens. Find details by product type and information on re-bagged items.

See individual Dum Dums ingredients and colors by flavor.

Since 1906, Spangler Candy Company has been dedicated to making quality products, including favorites like Dum Dums, Saf-T-Pops and Circus Peanuts. We're also focused on the safety of our products. This is especially important given the rise in recent years of food allergies, food intolerances and cases of celiac disease.

We make every effort to ensure that our products are free of the most common allergens. So whether you, or someone in your life, is on a gluten-free diet or has an allergy to wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish or shellfish, you can feel confident that Spangler products packaged in our facility are safe.

Peace of mind is so important when it comes to food allergies. Please see the paragraph on re-bagged items below.

If you have questions about our ingredients, please send an email to info@spanglercandy.com, or contact our Quality Assurance department. Check the Spangler FAQs page first. An icon in the square below denotes that particular product is free from the allergen listed.

Purchase Dum Dums, Saf-T-Pops, Candy Canes, and Circus Peanuts free of the top common allergens online. Download our Allergen Brochure.

 

Wheat Gluten

Dairy

Peanuts

Tree Nuts

Eggs

Fish

Shellfish

Soy

Dum Dums No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish Note*
Chewy Pops No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish Note*
Saf-T-Pops No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish Note*
Circus Peanuts No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish No soy
Candy Canes No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish Note*
Chewy Canes No wheat-gluten No dairy No peanuts No tree nuts No eggs No fish No shellfish Note*

*A note about soy.

Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.


Allergen Statements on Re-bagged Items

In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own store’s private label bag. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer of ours purchases and repackages our items.

The allergen free claim may be different as these companies often package other items that may contain peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat, gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.

To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have the following identifiers:

(1) Graphics of bag as shown on the Spangler Candy company website at www.spanglercandy.com.

(2) Current Spangler allergen statement: "This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment."

(3) Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.

(4) UPC code begins with “0 30800”. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.

Families with allergic children take great care to determine the origin of the food their children consume to protect against an allergic reaction. Families should ask the origin of any candy or food product that is in an open bowl or container to ensure what their children consume is free of allergens.

If you have questions, please contact our Quality Assurance department at info@spanglercandy.com or toll-free 888-636-4221.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergen free.

Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.

All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.

We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.

We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.

At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Did you know? Facts about food allergies and intolerances in the United States.

  • 1 in 13 children have a food allergy – that’s two in every classroom 1
  • According to a study released in 2013 by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, food allergies among children increased approximately 50% between 1997 and 2011.2
  • The economic cost of children’s food allergies is nearly $25 billion per year 3
  • Eight foods account for 90 percent of all reactions: milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, wheat, fish and shellfish 4
  • An estimated 9 million adults - or 4 percent have food allergies 5
  • Nearly 6 million children – or 8 percent have food allergies 6
  • Boys appear to develop food allergies more than girls. 7
  • Of food allergic children, peanut is the most prevalent allergen, followed by milk and then shellfish 8
  • 30.4 percent of food allergic children have multiple food allergies 9

Sources: (1) Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN), (2) Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, (3-7) Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE), (8,9) American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology (AAAAI)

 

Buy Your Favorites Online! Dum DumsBuy Bulk & SaveYouTube